General

Q1. What is the definition of MiC in particular of the freestanding volumetric modules stated in PNAP ADV-36?

A1.

The ultimate goal of adopting MiC is to improve site safety, efficiency and quality control, shorten construction period, reduce construction waste, disturbance and nuisance to the neighbourhood, etc.  Authorized Persons (APs) and Registered Structural Engineers (RSEs) should satisfy themselves that these benefits are practicably achievable and demonstrate in the plans submitted (e.g. MiC GBP and MiC superstructure plan) that there is improvement in the use of MiC as compared with the traditional insitu construction method.  The consideration of the extent of use of MiC as compared with the traditional insitu construction is shown in Figure 1.  APs/RSEs are strongly recommended to demonstrate this in the plans submitted.   APs and RSEs are also encouraged to make use of the pre-submission enquiry service or arrange an informal meeting with the TS/Building and TS/Structural of the Buildings Department (BD) on the enquiries related to building and structural matters respectively. The contact details are given in this webpage: https://www.bd.gov.hk/en/resources/codes-and-references/modular-integrated-construction/index.html.

 

FAQ General 1.jpg

Figure 1 – Consideration of the Extent of Use of MiC

Q2. Is there any requirement on the minimum extent of the finishes, fixture, fittings, etc., to be qualified as MiC?

A2.

There is no requirement on the minimum extent.  As long as the system/components used satisfy the definition of MiC, they will be qualified.

Q3. Is there any requirement on the minimum percentage of the construction floor area (CFA) per floor to be constructed in MiC in order to be qualified as a MiC building and be entitled to the 6% GFA exemption as stipulated in PNAP APP-161?

A3.

There is no requirement on the minimum percentage.  As long as the system/components used satisfy the definition of MiC, they will be qualified.    APs and RSEs, however, are encouraged to devise a holistic scheme to maximize the benefits of adopting MiC with the minimum essential insitu construction with wet trades.

Q4. Can the 6% GFA exemption be obtained for a temporary MiC building? What is the definition adopted by BD for a “temporary building”? What is the design service life of a building for which BD submission is required?

A4.

Temporary buildings are those buildings defined under Building (Planning) Regulation 50, and they fall within one or both of the following categories: (a) buildings required only for a short time; (b) buildings constructed of short-lived materials and (c) buildings constructed as a contractor’s shed required in connection with the erection of permanent buildings.  As far as temporary buildings are concerned, all provisions of the BO and subsidiary legislation are equally applicable.  Thus, they are subject to approval and consent, supervision by an AP and/or a RSE, construction by a registered contractor, certification of completion and the issue of a temporary occupation permit (see PNAP APP-50).  The 6% GFA exemption is also applicable to temporary MiC buildings, as long as the system/components used satisfy the definition of MiC.

Q5. Is the 6% GFA exemption building subject to the overall GFA cap of 10% under PNAP APP-151?

A5.

To encourage wider use of MiC in new buildings, the 6% GFA exemption of the MiC floor area of a new building is not subject to the overall GFA cap of 10% under PNAP APP-151.   An illustration example of the GFA calculations is given in Figure 2.

FAQ General 2.jpg

Figure 2 – Example of GFA Calculations

Last Updated: 23.12.2020 14:45:21

HKICC and Quarantine Camps

To fight COVID-19, the HKSAR Government has built the North Lantau Hospital Hong Kong Infection Control Centre (HKICC) next to the AsiaWorld-Expo providing 136 negative pressure wards which were designed with reference to the standards of tier-1 isolation wards that could accommodate about 820 beds. The HKICC adopted MiC method and was completed in merely 4 months (Sep 2020 – Jan 2021). It will open on 26 February 2021.

From blueprint to scale

05.03.2021 Hospital Authority

Infection control centre to open

25.02.2021 HKSAR Government

Temporary hospital completed

20.01.2021 HKSAR Government

Penny's Bay Quarantine Camp Phase 4

07.01.2021 AluHouse

同心抗疫: 鯉魚門檢疫單位投入運作 (Chinese only)

03.03.2020 Information Services Centre

HOT TOPIC

常見問題

一般問題

Q1. 根據PNAP ADV-36中的freestanding volumetric modules,「組裝合成」建築法的定義是什麼?

A1.

採用「組裝合成」建築法的最終目標是改善工地安全,提高效率和質量控制,縮短施工時間,減少建築廢料,減少對鄰居的干擾和滋擾等。認可人士(AP)及註冊結構工程師(RSE)應該確保這些好處實際上是可以實現的,並且在提交的計劃(例如「組裝合成」建築法GBP和「組裝合成」建築法上層建築計劃)中證明,與傳統的現場施工方法相比,「組裝合成」建築法有所改善。圖1顯示了與傳統的現場建築對比使用「組裝合成」建築法的程度,強烈建議AP / RSE在提交的計劃中對此進行證明。當局亦鼓勵認可人士和註冊結構工程師於提交前查詢,或分別與屋宇署技術秘書/屋宇及技術秘書/結構就建築和結構事宜進行的非正式會議。聯絡方法請前往以下網址:

https://www.bd.gov.hk/en/resources/codes-and-references/modular-integrated-construction/index.html

 

FAQ General 1.jpg

圖1 - 考慮使用MiC的程度

Q2. 「組裝合成」建築法的飾面、固定裝置及配件等有沒有最少要求?

A2.

沒有最少要求,只要所使用的系統/組件滿足「組裝合成」建築法的定義,它們就會符合資格。

Q3. 使用「組裝合成」建築法,有沒有每層建築面積(CFA)的最低百分比要求,才有資格成為MiC建築物,並符合享用PNAP APP-161規定的6%總樓面面積(GFA)寬免措施?

A3.

沒有最低百分比要求。只要所使用的系統/組件滿足「組裝合成」建築法的定義,它們就會符合資格。 但會鼓勵認可人士(AP)及註冊結構工程師(RSE)設計一個整體方案,以最大程度地利用「組裝合成」建築法以減少現場施工。

Q4. 臨時性的「組裝合成」建築物能否獲得6%的建築面積寬免措施? 屋宇署對「臨時建築物」的定義是什麼? 屋宇署的建築物設計使用壽命要求是多少?

A4.

臨時建築物是指《建築物(規劃)規例》第50條所定義的建築物,它們屬於以下一種或兩種:(a)只在一段短時間內需要; (b)以非耐用物料建造,或(c)建作為因建立永久建築物而需要的承建商屋棚。 就臨時建築物而言,《建築物條例》及附屬法例的所有條文均同樣適用。 因此,它們必須經過批准和同意,認可人士(AP)及註冊結構工程師(RSE)的監督,註冊承包商的施工,完工證明和臨時佔領許可證的頒發(請參閱PNAP APP-50)。 只要所使用的系統/組件滿足「組裝合成」建築法的定義,6%的GFA寬免措施也適用於臨時「組裝合成」建築物。

Q5. 6%建築面積寬免措施是否受PNAP APP-151規定的總建築面積上限10%的限制?

A5.

為鼓勵在新建築物中更廣泛地使用「組裝合成」建築法,PNPN APP-151規定,6%建築面積寬免措施不受總建築面積上限10%的限制。 圖2列出了總建築面積計算的示例。

FAQ General 2.jpg
圖2 - 總建築面積計算的示例

最後更新: 23.12.2020 14:45:21

以「組裝合成」建築法快速地興建具質素的「簡約公屋」

2022年施政報告公布興建「簡約公屋」

「簡約公屋」計劃由建築署負責,以「組裝合成」建築法興建。房屋局將於屯門、元朗、上水、啟德、牛頭角及柴灣多區,共八個選址,興建約30,000個「簡約公屋」單位。建築期大約只為一至兩年,單位內有獨立洗手間、煮食空間、冷氣及熱水爐等設施。預計首階段約2,100個「簡約公屋」單位最快可在2024至2025年度落成,其餘單位分別會在2025至2026年度和2026至2027年度分階段落成,期望短時間内改善基層市民的住屋問題。

熱門話題